played football at Blakely High School

  • I played midget football at Lincoln grade school in 1941 and number one grade school in 1944. I played football at Blakely high school from 1945 to 1949. My junior and senior year I played end. In 1947 and 1948 we won the Lackawanna and the Northern Division of the Eastern Conference. We then played Hazelton, the Southern Division of the Eastern Conference. Blakely beat Hazelton 7 to 6. It was a cold, snowy, and sleeting day in December. In 1948 we beat Ashland in the new Blakely Stadium in December for the Eastern Conference. I believe the score was 19 to 6 on a very pleasant day. I played in the 1948 Dream Game sponsored by the Lions Club. We lost to the City team 7 to 0. I was fortunate to receive a football scholarship to the University of Scranton 1949 to 1953. After graduation I spent 2 years in the US Marine Corp as a commissioned 1st lt., married my wife Gisele in 1955. was employed with Exxon Mobile Corp. for 17 years. In 1972 we moved back to PA from NYC and settled in Clarks Summit. I ran my own business, heating, air conditoning, and plumbing as a contractor from 1972 to 2001. In August 2001, I retired to the Villages FL.

    Leonard Silvestri, Class of 1949

