I graduated a Valley View Cougar, I will always be a Blakely Bear!

  • Since I was old enough to remember, I wanted to be a Blakely Bear. Why? The same reason all of you wanted to be a Blakely Bear. Every fall, Friday night meant Blakely Bear football. During my formidable years, I watched the Bears go on a 49 game unbeaten streak. I would play football in my back yard and pretend I was one of the great Bears of that era. I never had the opportunity to play for Papa Bear. I was a freshman the last year of Blakely and hoped to get on the field at least 1 time. But a knee injury denied me that. At the initial outing, I saw and spoke with many of the Bears I emulated. Seeing them and the accomplishments they achieved both on the field and in life spoke volumes of the influence Papa Bear had on their lives.

    I am proud to have known Papa Bear and know that sometime in the near future, past Dunmore Bucks will start a similar organization to honor his son, Jack Henzes Jr. for the same reasons.

    Although I graduated a Valley View Cougar, I will always be a Blakely Bear.

    Rick Pambianco, VV Class of 72
     

